side menu icon

Religious Recognitions

Girl Scouts and Faith

Faith-based programs have been part of the Girl Scout tradition since the movement began in 1912. Everything in Girl Scouting is based on the Girl Scout Promise and Law, which includes many of the principles and values common to most faiths. Thus, while a secular organization, Girl Scouts encourages girls to take spiritual journeys via their faiths' religious recognitions.

Girl Scouts recognizes the religious diversity that exists within our communities. Many times, girls in the same troop represent a wide variety of faiths. Troop leaders help girls develop respect and appreciation for each others individual beliefs.

My Promise, My Faith Pin

Girls of all grade levels can earn the My Promise, My Faith pin developed by Girl Scouts of the USA. This pin, which girls can earn once a year, complements existing religious recognitions and allows all girls to further strengthen the connection between their faith and Girl Scouts. A girl earns the My Promise, My Faith pin by carefully examining the Girl Scout Law and directly tying it to tenets of her faith.

  • Daisy-Year-1

    Daisy Year 1

  • Daisy-Year-2

    Daisy Year 2

  • Brownie-Year-1

    Brownie Year 1

  • Brownie-Year-2

    Brownie Year 2

  • Junior-Year-1

    Junior Year 1

  • Junior-Year-2

    Junior Year 2

  • Cadette-Year-1

    Cadette Year 1

  • Cadette-Year-2

    Cadette Year 2

  • Cadette-Year-3

    Cadette Year 3

  • Senior-Year-1

    Senior Year 1

  • Senior-Year-2

    Senior Year 2

  • Ambassador-Year-1

    Ambassador Year 1

  • Ambassador-Year-2

    Ambassador Year 2

P.R.A.Y. (Programs of Religious Activities with Youth) Religious Awards

  • Religious awards are available for more than 25 faiths. 
  • Girls can earn the awards independently of their troop.
  • Religious awards programs are created by individual religious groups to encourage girls to grow stronger in their faith.
  • GSUSA recognizes these programs and allows the recognition to be worn on the official uniform.
  • Each religious organization develops and administers its own program.

The To Serve God Religious Awards Brochure shows the religious recognitions that have been created by various faith groups. You can find this brochure, a video that explains the religious recognitions programs, and other resources for collaborating with the faith community at P.R.A.Y. (Programs of Religious Activities with Youth).

How do we get started on these programs?

  • Download the To Serve God Religious Awards Brochure.
  • Contact the religious organization directly to order the workbook (information for each faith is on the To Serve God Religious Awards Brochure).
    • Each girl needs her own booklet to document progress.
    • Some religions offer adult manuals for counselors and mentors.
  • Parents should review the program guidelines.
    • Some programs require that girls be official "members" of the religious institution.
    • Age/grade requirements vary from program to program.
    • Each program sets its own guidelines as to who may serve as a counselor. Some programs require clergy to serve as counselor, other programs allow parents or other family members to serve as counselor.
  • Girls must complete the requirements, obtain the proper signatures and follow the instructions to order the recognition or pin.
    • These recognitions or pins are not available in your local Girl Scout store.
    • The award should be presented in a meaningful ceremony.
    • The award can be presented at any time of the year (don't forget that Girl Scout Sunday/Sabbath is in March).

For more information on the religious awards for any faith, check out P.R.A.Y. (Programs of Religious Activities with Youth).

Some religious organizations are not affiliated with P.R.A.Y. or may not have a national office. To learn about other faith-based programs and recognitions, contact your local religious leaders.