side menu icon

GSMISTS Governance & Finance

Governance structures are part of every Girl Scout Council and are defined in the council bylaws. 

Girl Scouts of Michigan Shore to Shore's governing body is its board of directors.  Under the leadership of the Chair, the board maintains the integrity and the purpose of Girl Scouting within our council’s jurisdiction. 

The board's responsibilities include: influence policy regarding the council goals, issues affecting girls, and issues affecting the business of the organization, as well as strategic planning, financial oversight, and fund development.

Board of Directors

Board Chair

Deborah Hughes

Board Chair


Vivian TerMaat

Chief Executive Officer


2021-22 Officers

  • Deborah Hughes, Board Chair
  • Karen Feahr, 1st Vice Chair
  • Theresa Petko, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Amanda Miscisin, Board Treasurer
  • La'Leatha Spillers, Board Secretary

2021-22 Members at Large

  • Sharron Pitts
  • Holly Little
  • Jessie Jones
  • Amy Pierce-Danders
  • Judy Dennis
  • Shelley Irwin
  • Dr. Pamela Smith, Ed.D.
  • Doug Wilterdink
  • Regina Gilmore
  • Cathy Cooper
  • Ana Ramirez-Saenz
  • Emma Baranowski
  • Mary Nader
  • Megan Smith Javanovic
  • Kevin Yeomans


  • Vivian TerMaat, Chief Executive Officer

Interested in joining Girl Scouts of Michigan Shore to Shore's Board of Directors? Learn more about what being a board member entails in our Board Position Description.

Email to start the application process today!


Voting Members of the Corporation (Council) are convened at the council's Annual Meeting and special meetings of the corporation to elect the board of directors and board development committee, and National Council delegates/alternates as appropriate, in addition to approving council bylaws. Voting members of the corporation include the board of directors, the board development committee, and the delegate body.

The Delegate Body consists of members age 14 and above and adult volunteers elected in their Service Units. 

Delegate Manual
Delegate Position Description
2022 Delegate Training Webinar - Recording
2022 Delegate Training Webinar - Slideshow

2020-2023 National Council Delegates and Alternates

2020 - 2023 National Council Delegates and Alternates

  • Deborah Hughes – National Council Delegate, Board Chair
  • Vivian TerMaat– National Council Delegate, CEO
  • Mandi Garvey – National Council Delegate
  • Bethany Thies – National Council Delegate
  • Rebecca Reynolds – National Council Delegate
  • Mackenzie St. John – National Council Delegate
  • Holly Little – National Council Alternate, Board Member
  • Jennifer St. John – National Council Alternate
  • Faith Aversano – National Council Alternate

The 55th National Council Session - 2020 

At the 55th National Council Session in October 2020, six proposals were considered, and voted on. GSMISTS hosted virtual feedback sessions with all GSMISTS delegates so that they could share their comments and opinions on the National Council (NC) proposals with our NC delegates. To learn more, please check out the 2020 GSUSA NCS Recap.


Financial Documents

Annual Reports